Senior Men

The New Zealand Senior Men's Team squads consist of players from school-age to university students, and from professional players overseas to players in the workforce. It is our aim to assist and develop those athletes committed to the programme and that fulfill the requirements set by the High Performance Programme (HPP) to be successful on the highest water polo stage possible.

Senior Men's Programme - 2023

In March 2022 Matt Claridge was announced as the head coach of the NZ Senior Men's team. Matt brings a wealth of experience and understanding of International water polo. 

The programme will enter an initial three year phase, with further horizons identified as 2028 and 2032. Central to the programme is clearly identified activity that focuses energy and effort on the path towards the World Championships in 2023. 

Based on squad development occurring in the Australian leagues, and the National Team building and increasing its participation in international activity from early 2023, the first long-term goal is to qualify for the Los Angeles Olympic Games in 2028 and then perform with distinction in Brisbane in 2032.

In April, 2023, a squad of 15 players toured tour Northern California Universities.

In May 2023, NZ Men competed in the "Water Polo World Cup, Division 2" in Berlin, Germany (details below).


2022-23 NZ Senior Men's Squad - selected July 2023

New Zealand Water Polo is pleased to announce the NZ Men's Squad. Congratulations to all selected players!


Hamish Booker (Hutt)
Sean Bryant (Hutt)
Louis Clark (Marist)
Ben Fleming (Marist/UC Davis)
Bae Fountain (Tauranga/University of the Pacific)
Lochie Frazer (Canterbury)
Boston Frost (North Harbour)
Amosa Gould (Marist/Serbia)
Flynn Howarth (North Harbour)
Campbell Hulbert (Hutt)
Matthew Lewis (Marist)
Brandon Matthews (North Harbour)
Matt Morris (North Harbour)
Will Murphy (Hutt)
Patrick O’Neill (Canterbury/Krefeld SVK72, Germany)
Sam O’Neill (Canterbury/Krefeld SVK72, Germany)
Jamie Ogilvie-Lee (Hutt/Victorian Phoenix)
Nicholas Paterson (Tauranga)
Darius Porter (Canterbury)
Josef Schuler (Tauranga/Sydney Uni)
Tony Tua-Tagaloa (Sea Wolf)
Keegan Wicken (Sydney Uni)

Hamish Bonnar (Waitakere/West Valley College)
Theo Bos (Tauranga)
Caiden Brown (North Harbour)
Ethan Carrington (Tauranga/Golden West)
Calum De Jager (Marist)
Moe Gath (Hutt)
Cole Johns (North Harbour/Sydney Uni)
Mitchell Keightley (Waikato)
Ashwyn Keshvara (Marist/Barcelona Water Polo)
Kelly McDowell (Hutt)
Tom Patten (Canterbury)
Taine Pickering (North Harbour)
Daniel Warman (North Harbour/University of the Pacific)

Gene Baggott (Tauranga)
Liam Dodunski (Marist)
Daniel Ibbotson (North Harbour)
Sam Keightley (Waikato)
Cole Phillips (Manawatu)
Michael Rodgers (North Harbour)
Alistar Rogers (North Harbour)
Ollie Schnauer (Marist)

CANCELLED!  Read More Here!

TEAM: Sean Bryant (Hutt) - Captain, Amosa Gould (Marist), Campbell Hulbert (Hutt), Patrick O'Neill (Canterbury), Sam O'Neill (Canterbury), Will Murphy (Hutt), Nicholas Paterson (Tauranga), Non-Travelling Reserve: Jamie Ogilvie-Lee (Victorian Phoenix, Melbourne, AUS). Coach:  Matt Claridge.

Members of the Senior and U20 Men's squads competed in the 2022 Sydney Super League against some of Australia's strongest teams and players. It was a fantastic opportunity for our NZ teams to begin the journey back to the international stage in Sydney.

October Team List: Theo Bos, Sean Bryant, Ethan Carrington, Boston Frost, Moe Gath, Campbell Hulbert, Cole Johns, Brandon Matthews, Kelly McDowell, Will Murphy, Patrick O'Neill, Sam O'Neill, James Ogilvee-Lee, Tom Patten.

November Team List: Theo Bos, Sean Bryant, Ethan Carrington, James Catlin, Lachlan Frazer, Campbell Hulbert, Brandon Matthews, Kelly McDowell, Kama Morton, Will Murphy, Patrick O'Neill, Sam O'Neill, James Ogilvee-Lee, Tom Patten

PHOTOS               WATCH GAMES HERE               STATS


2023 NZWP Registrations!